B i o g r a p h y

Alexandra is a Sydney and Melbourne  based recorder player, music educator and conductor.  

She first started studying music at the age of fourteen with Zana Clarke (AUS) and then went on to complete her Bachelor of Music in recorder performance at the Melbourne Conservatorium of Music at the University of Melbourne. During that time, Alexandra specialised in ensemble and soloist historical performance practice with Ruth Wilkinson (AUS).

In 2016 Alexandra completed her Masters of Music Performance-Teaching (majoring in conducting).

Alexandra is currently a member of Trillo, an early music ensemble made up of multi-instrumentalist musicians who play repertoire from the medieval to the classical period. She also is part of The Recorder Co-op a recorder quartet specializing in recorder music both contemporary and early. In the past she has performed with the the Organs of Ballarat Goldfields festival (VIC), Bach Akademie Australia (SYD), Salut! Baroque (SYD), The Adelaide Symphony Orchestra (SA), and the Bach Cantata program at St Johns Soutgate (VIC). Alexandra has been broadcast on ABC Classic FM and ABC Regional Radio (Ballarat). 


Alexandra teaches recorder to students of all ages and is currently teaching private lessons in Sydney. Alexandra has been a tutor, conductor and performer for the Sydney Recorder Society, Canberra Recorder & Early Music Society, Victorian Recorder Guild, Recorder and Early Music Society of Western Australia and the annual Orpheus Music Recorder Courses (Armidale, NSW). Alexandra is one of the four founding members and organisers of The Melbourne Recorder Academy. She has taught at St Michael’s Grammar School and at Wesley College as part of her placement where she provided group and individual music tuition on recorder and flute for both primary and high school students.  

Alexandra has worked with and has had master-classes by some of Australia’s best recorder and international early musicians such as Genevieve Lacey (AUS), Kamala Bain (NZ), Walter van Hauwe (NL), Simon Rickard (AUS), Ann Morgan (AUS) Hannah Coleman (AUS), Ryan Williams (AUS), Rodney Waterman (AUS) and María Martínez Ayerza (UK).

© 2016 by Alexandra Bailliet-Joly.