The Recorder Co-op & The Melbourne Recorder Academy

THE RECORDER CO-OP is a recorder quartet made up of some of Australia's most well-known recorder players, including Hannah Coleman, Ruth Wilkinson, Ryan Williams and Alexandra Bailliet-Joly.  

Performances are on matched recorder consorts built by Danish recorder maker Ture Bergstrøm and New Zealand recorder maker David Coomber, this ensemble brings back the authentic sounds of the Renaissance era.

Comfortable with many musical styles The Recorder Co-op also has a passion for commissioning new works for Renaissance style recorders, drawing from the deep past these special instruments speak to contemporary Australia.

With the help of the Victorian Recorder Guild and DCMT, the members established the Melbourne Recorder Academy, focusing on workshops for young recorder players. MRA aims to create an inspiring community and music making opportunities for young recorder players, lead by professional musicians. 


IF you'd like to keep up to date with the Recorder Co-op or the Melbourne Recorder Academy we have a facebook page with news, events and all our upcoming projects and concerts. 

  • Facebook Social Icon
Save the Date
11-12th of July 2020 -Melbourne Recorder Academy Workshop

Half days or full days depending on tier level.


Email us at:


Bringing young recorders players together over two days to perform a wonderful program of Renaissance, Baroque and contemporary music.


Exact details will depend on the participants, but we anticipate offering four tiers:

*Advanced Players (upper secondary school, AMEB Gr 7+)

*Intermediate Players (upper primary-lower secondary school, AMEB Gr 4+),

*Beginning Players (lower-middle primary school, AMEB Gr 1+)

If you don't fit into those categories, don't worry at all - they're just a guide to get us started. Please register on the trybooking page or email us with any questions.

Melba Hall concert
Melba Hall concert

Auncient Hermony and the Recorder Co-op after a concert

press to zoom
Melbourne Recorder Academy
Melbourne Recorder Academy

Melbourne Recorder Academy, some of the tutors perfoming. Left to right: Ryan Williams, Hannah Coleman, Kimberley Scriven and Alexandra Bailliet-Joly

press to zoom
Alex holding the Bb bass
Alex holding the Bb bass

press to zoom
Melba Hall concert
Melba Hall concert

Auncient Hermony and the Recorder Co-op after a concert

press to zoom

2020 Projects

Dear Recorder players, students and music lovers!

We've got a big year planned ahead for recorder lovers. We are excited to offer three workshops this year, three concerts and invite an international guest to join us! During the year we look forward to bringing new Australian compositions to the recorder repertoire, and to share music and our passion for the recorder in workshops as part of our ongoing collaboration with the Victorian Recorder Guild and DCMT

Here are some dates to save in advance:
15 Feburary -  Blow in led by Hannah Coleman with a special youth session, from 2-5pm at Canterbury Girls' Secondary College, Mangarra Road, Canterbury.


1 March - We are excited to invite you to our first concert of the year!

Summer Haze - A special concert of Australian Recorder Quartets, premiering "Neo-Noir" and "Broken Landscape" by Ryan Williams.

Join us on Sunday, March 1 @ 3pm
Church of All Nations, 180 Palmerston Street, Carlton VIC


May Ensemble Workshop - dates to be confirmed. Stay updated with the Victorian Recorder Guild website or our FB page

10 July - The Recorder Co-op are joined by a very special guest Kamala Bain (New Zealand). 7.30pm Church of all Nations, Carlton. 

11-12 July - Melbourne Recorder Academy Workshop (more details below or visit our website). This workshop is for recorder players aged between 5-20 years of age. 

1 - 4 October - Victorian Recorder Guild Myrniong Workshop. A weekend of playing ensemble and orchestral music led by all four members of the Recorder Co-op. 

15  November - The Recorder Co-op present our final concert of the year, 3pm Church of all Nations, Carlton. 

We look forward to seeing you at these recorder events. If you have any questions please do not hesitate to contact us via our email or stay updated with us through our fb page